A-Z Index

Faculty Awards

Faculty Excellence Awards

The Faculty Excellence Award Program recognizes superior faculty performance in each of the three traditional areas of academic responsibility: teaching, research and service.  A faculty member from the College of Arts & Sciences and a faculty member from the six professional schools are selected from nominations for each of the three categories.  All full-time faculty holding a board-approved appointment in the University are eligible for the awards.

2022-23 Award Recipients

Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Ashley Black Associate Professor Language, Literature, and Writing
Dr. Nissa Ingraham Associate Professor Education

Excellence in Scholarship

Dr. Jim Campbell Associate Professor Natural Sciences
Dr. Linda Gray Smith Associate Professor Education

Excellence in Service

Dr. Rhonda Beemer Associate Professor Health Science and Wellness
Dr. Gretchen Thornsberry Associate Professor Natural Sciences

Governor's Award for Excellence in Education

The Governor's Award for Excellence in Education is presented annually to an outstanding faculty member from each of Missouri's four-year higher education institutions. Recipients are selected based on several criteria: effective teaching, effective advising, service to the university community, commitment to high standards of excellence, and success in nurturing student achievement. Northwest's winner is announced in the fall and receives the award at a reception in Jefferson City the following spring.

2023 Governor's Award Recipient

Dr. Nissa Ingraham, an associate professor of professional education, is the university’s recipient of the 2023 Governor’s Award for Excellence in Education.